Blog Archives

ECW World Television Title History

Champion Won From Date City/Event
Johnny Hotbody Larry Winters 8/12/1992 Philadelphia, PA[1]
Glen Osbourne The Sandman 9/30/1992 Philadelphia, PA[2]
Jimmy Snuka Glen Osbourne 3/12/1993 Radnor, PA[3]
Terry Funk Jimmy Snuka 10/1/1993 NWA Bloodfest:
Part 1
Sabu Terry Funk 11/13/1993 November to
The Tazmaniac Sabu 3/6/1994 Philadelphia, PA
JT Smith The Tazmaniac 3/6/1994 Philadelphia, PA
The Pitbull #1 JT Smith 4/16/1994 Philadelphia, PA
Mikey Whipwreck The Pitbull #1 5/13/1994 Philadelphia, PA
Jason Mikey
8/13/1994 Hardcore Heaven
Too Cold Scorpio Jason 11/4/1994 Hamburg, PA
Dean Malenko Too Cold
11/4/1994 Hamburg, PA
Too Cold
Scorpio (2)
Dean Malenko 3/18/1995 Philadelphia, PA
Eddie Guerrero Too Cold
4/8/1995 Three Way Dance
Dean Malenko (2) Eddie Guerrero 7/21/1995 Tampa, FL
Eddie Guerrero (2) Dean Malenko 7/28/1995 Middletown, NY
Too Cold
Scorpio (3)
Eddie Guerrero 8/25/1995 Jim Thorpe, PA
Whipwreck (2)
Too Cold
12/29/1995 Holiday Hell
Too Cold
Scorpio (4)
1/5/1996 House Party
Shane Douglas Too Cold
5/11/1996 A Matter of Respect
The Pitbull #2 Shane Douglas 6/1/1996 Fight the Power
Chris Jericho Pitbull #2 6/22/1996 Hardcore Heaven
Shane Douglas (2) Chris Jericho 7/13/1996 Heat Wave[5]
Taz (2) Shane Douglas 6/7/1997 Wrestlepalooza
Bam Bam Bigelow Taz 3/1/1998 Living Dangerously
Rob Van Dam Bam Bam
4/4/1998 Buffalo, NY[6]
Super Crazy Rhino 3/12/2000 Living
Yoshihiro Tajiri Super Crazy 4/8/2000 ECW on TNN[8]
Rhino Yoshihiro Tajiri 4/22/2000 CyberSlam
Kid Kash Rhino 8/26/2000 ECW on TNN
Rhyno (2) Kid Kash 9/9/2000 ECW on TNN[9]

[1]: No title tournament that I’m aware of, just two top contenders facing off for the title. Hotbody legitimately injured his ankle and on September 12, 1992, he was forced by ECW to relinquish the title.
[2]: Osbourne and Sandman were the final two men who competed in a battle royal and wrestled later in the night to crown a new champion. In February 1993, Osbourne was stripped of the title for unknown reasons.
[3]: This was a tournament final.
[4]: The TV title was defended in a tag match which included the TV champ Terry Funk & King Kong Bundy against Sabu & Road Warrior Hawk. Sabu pinned Funk and because of the match stipulations, Sabu became the new TV champion.
[5]: This was a four-way dance which also included Pitbull #2 and Too Cold Scorpio.
[6]: On March 4, 2000, Rob Van Dam was injured and forced to vacate the title.
[7]: This was a tournament final.
[8]: This was a three-way match which also included Little Guido.
[9]: On April 11, 2001, ECW shut down and the WWF buys their assets, which leaves Rhino as the final REAL ECW World Television Champion.

Credit goes to: PWI Almanac,, and

%d bloggers like this: