Blog Archives

The Rise & Fall of WCW – Disc One

The Rise and Fall of WCW – Disc One
Released: 8/25/2009

It’s pretty fitting that this would be my first wrestling DVD documentary I’ve ever reviewed. Read the rest of this entry

NWA United States Heavyweight Title History

Champion Won From Date City/Event
Harley Race Johnny Weaver 1/1/1975 Tallahassee, FL[1]
Johnny Valentine Harley Race 7/3/1975 Greensboro, NC[2]
Terry Funk Paul Jones 11/9/1975 Greensboro, NC[3]
Paul Jones Terry Funk 11/27/1975 Greensboro, NC
Blackjack Mulligan Paul Jones 3/13/1976 Greensboro, NC
Paul Jones (2) Blackjack Mulligan 10/16/1976 Greensboro, NC
Mulligan (2)
Paul Jones 12/15/1976 Greensboro, NC
Bobo Brazil Blackjack Mulligan 7/7/1977 Norfolk, VA
Ric Flair Bobo Brazil 7/29/1977 Norfolk, VA
Ricky Steamboat Ric Flair 10/23/1977 Greensboro, NC
Mulligan (3)
Ricky Steamboat 1/1/1978 Greensboro, NC
Mr. Wrestling Blackjack Mulligan 3/19/1978 Greensboro, NC
Ric Flair (2) Mr. Wrestling 4/9/1978 Greensboro, NC
Ricky Steamboat (2) Ric Flair 12/18/1978 Toronto, Ontario
Ric Flair (3) Ricky Steamboat 4/1/1979 Greensboro, NC[4]
Jimmy Snuka Ricky Steamboat 9/1/1979 Charlotte, NC[5]
Ric Flair (4) Jimmy Snuka 4/19/1980 Greensboro, NC
Roddy Piper Ric Flair 1/27/1981 Raleigh, NC
Wahoo McDaniel Roddy Piper 8/8/1981 Greensboro, NC[6]
Sgt. Slaughter Ricky Steamboat 10/4/1981 Charlotte, NC[7]
Wahoo McDaniel (2) Sgt. Slaughter 5/21/1982 Richmond, VA
Sgt. Slaughter (2) 6/7/1982 Greenville, SC[8]
Wahoo McDaniel (3) Sgt. Slaughter 8/22/1982 Charlotte, NC
Greg Valentine Wahoo McDaniel 11/4/1982 Norfolk, VA
Roddy Piper (2) Greg Valentine 4/16/1983 Greensboro, NC
Greg Valentine (2) Roddy Piper 4/30/1983 Greensboro, NC
Dick Slater Greg Valentine 12/14/1983 Shelby, NC
Ricky Steamboat (3) Dick Slater 4/21/1984 Greensboro, NC
Wahoo McDaniel (4) Ricky Steamboat 6/24/1984 Greensboro, NC[9]
Wahoo McDaniel (5) Manny Fernandez 10/7/1984 Charlotte, NC[10]
Magnum TA Wahoo McDaniel 3/23/1985 Charlotte, NC
Tully Blanchard Magnum TA 7/21/1985 Charlotte, NC
Magnum TA (2) Tully Blanchard 11/28/1985 Starrcade
Nikita Koloff Magnum TA 8/17/1986 Charlotte, NC[11]
Lex Luger Nikita Koloff 7/11/1987 Great
American Bash
Dusty Rhodes Lex Luger 11/26/1987 Starrcade[12]
Barry Windham Nikita Koloff 5/13/1988 Houston, TX[13]
Lex Luger (2) Barry Windham 2/20/1989 Chi-Town Rumble
Michael Hayes Lex Luger 5/7/1989 Wrestle War
Lex Luger (3) Michael Hayes 5/22/1989 Bluefield, WV
Stan Hansen Lex Luger 10/27/1990 Halloween Havoc
Lex Luger (4) Stan Hansen 12/16/1990 Starrcade
The belt becomes part of WCW. Multiple reigns will continue on.

[1]: Race was awarded the title with the explanation that he defeated Johnny Weaver in a tournament final.
[2]: Johnny Valentine vacated the title after suffering a plane crash on October 4, 1975.
[3]: This was a tournament final.
[4]: Flair was forced to vacate the title after winning the NWA World tag team championship days earlier.
[5]: This was a tournament final.
[6]: Wahoo vacated the title after being injured by Abdullah the Butcher.
[7]: This was a tournament final.
[8]: Sgt. Slaughter was awarded the title when Wahoo McDaniel was unable to show up for a title match as the result of having sustained an injured left leg at the hands of Don Muraco and Roddy Piper.
[9]: The title was held up and vacated after this bout due to the interference of Tully Blanchard, who hit Ricky Steamboat in the head with a chair.
[10]: This was a tournament final.
[11]: This match was the final bout in a best-of-seven series to fill the vacancy created in May 1986 when Magnum TA was stripped of the title for attacking NWA President Bob Geigel.
[12]: Dusty Rhodes was stripped of the title after beating NWA President Jim Crockett with a baseball bat in April 1988.
[13]: This was a tournament final.

Credit goes to: PWI Almanac,, and

Saturday Night (04.17.93)

WCW Saturday Night
April 17, 1993
Atlanta, GA
Center Stage Theatre

The current WCW & NWA Champs were as follows:
WCW World Champion: Big Van Vader (3/17/1993)
NWA World Champion: Barry Windham (2/21/1993)
WCW U.S. Champion: Dustin Rhodes (1/11/1993)
WCW/NWA World Tag Team Champions: The Hollywood Blondes (3/2/1993)
WCW World Television Champion: Paul Orndorff (3/2/1993)

Last week, Arn Anderson and Barry Windham got in a fight! Maybe they will this week too!

Your hosts are Tony Schiavone and Jesse Ventura. Read the rest of this entry

%d bloggers like this: