Blog Archives

ECW Title History

Champion Won From Date City/Event
Rob Van Dam 6/13/2006 ECW[1]
Big Show Rob Van Dam 7/4/2006 ECW
Bobby Lashley Big Show 12/3/2006 December to
Mr. McMahon Bobby Lashley 4/29/2007 Backlash[3]
Bobby Lashley
Mr. McMahon 6/3/2007 One Night Stand[4]
John Morrison CM Punk 6/25/2007 Vengeance[5]
CM Punk John Morrison 9/1/2007 ECW
Chavo Guerrero CM Punk 1/22/2008 ECW
Kane Chavo
3/30/2008 WrestleMania XXIV[6]
Mark Henry Kane 6/29/2008 Night of Champions[7]
Matt Hardy The Miz 9/7/2008 Unforgiven[8]
Jack Swagger Matt Hardy 1/13/2009 ECW
Christian Jack Swagger 4/26/2009 Backlash
Tommy Dreamer Christian 6/7/2009 Extreme Rules[9]
Christian (2) Tommy Dreamer 7/26/2009 Night of Champions

[1]: With the renewed ECW television show as WWE would have it be, the ECW title was revived and awarded to Rob Van Dam by Paul Heyman after winning the WWE championship.
[2]: This was an extreme elimination chamber match which also included Rob Van Dam, Test, Hardcore Holly and CM Punk.
[3]: This was a handicap match which put Vince McMahon, Shane McMahon and Umaga up against ECW champion Bobby Lashley. McMahon got the pinfall and won the title.
[4]: The title became vacant once Lashley was drafted to Raw.
[5]: Chris Benoit was actually chosen to be Punk’s opponent instead of Johnny Nitro (John Morrison) as another top contender, but never arrived for the show. I think we all know why he didn’t show.
[6]: Even though this is the ECW title, it became exclusive to Raw once Kane was drafted on June 23, 2008.
[7]: This was a triple-threat match which also included the Big Show. Since Mark Henry was a part of the ECW brand, the belt once again returned to where it belonged on ECW.
[8]: According the Championship Scramble rules, the ECW title could change hands any time during the match with any one gaining a pinfall on any one else regardless of whether or not they are the current champion. The match included Mark Henry, Finlay, Matt Hardy, Chavo Guerrero and The Miz.
[9]: Tommy Dreamer won the ECW world title in a triple-threat match which also included Jack Swagger.

Credit goes to: PWI Almanac,, and

%d bloggers like this: