Blog Archives

NJPW: Invasion Attack 2015


NJPW: Invasion Attack
April 5, 2015
Tokyo, Japan
Ryogoku Sumo Hall

The current IWGP champs are as follows:
IWGP Heavyweight Champion: AJ Styles (2/11/2015)
IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion: Kenny Omega (1/4/2015)
IWGP Tag Team Champions: Doc Gallows & Karl Anderson (2/11/2015)
IWGP Jr. Tag Team Champions: The Young Bucks (2/11/2015)
IWGP Intercontinental Champion: Shinsuke Nakamura (9/21/2014)
NEVER Openweight Champion: Tomohiro Ishii (2/14/2015)

The Bullet Club has gone FULL 1997 nWo-style on the championships in New Japan. Tonight, all four of their championships are on the line. New Japan Cup winner Kota Ibushi meets IWGP Heavyweight Champion AJ Styles in the main event, Kenny Omega defends his IWGP Jr. Heavyweight crown against Mascara Dorada, Rocky Romero and Baretta take on the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Champs the Young Bucks, and Doc Gallows and Karl Anderson battle over the IWGP tag belts with the Kingdom from Ring of Honor. SO MANY POSSIBILITIES FOR CHANGE.

NOTE: If you’re looking for a hardcore puroresu fan perspective for this show, unfortunately you’ve come to the wrong place. I am at best a casual fan of New Japan, but the World Pro Wrestling show on AXS is peaking my interest in what they are capable of doing, so that’s why this recap is happening. That being said, I will do my best to not assume anything or hopefully make you roll your eyes at my ignorance as I hope that doesn’t show through all too much.
Read the rest of this entry

%d bloggers like this: