ROH Pure Title History

Champion Won From Date City/Event
AJ Styles CM Punk 2/14/2004 Second Anniversary Show[1]
Doug Williams Alex Shelley 7/17/2004 Reborn: Completion[2]
John Walters Doug Williams 8/28/2004 Scramble Cage Melee
Jay Lethal John Walters 3/5/2005 Trios Tournament
Samoa Joe Jay Lethal 5/7/2005 Manhattan Mayhem
Nigel McGuinness Samoa Joe 8/27/2005 Dragon’s Gate Invasion
Bryan Danielson Nigel McGuinness 8/12/2006 Unified[3]

[1]: This was an 8-man tournament final to crown the first-ever ROH Pure Champion. When ROH founder Rob Feinstein was accused of meeting up with little boys for a sex romp, TNA prohibited AJ Styles from appearing at any ROH shows in fear of bad publicity and the title was vacated in April 2004.
[2]: This was another 8-man tournament final to award the ROH Pure title to another wrestler and Doug Williams came out on the winning end.
[3]: As ROH world champion, Bryan Danielson unified the ROH Pure title with the ROH world championship when he defeated Nigel McGuinness for the belt.

Credit goes to: PWI Almanac,, and

Posted on August 19, 2009, in ROH and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: